Buy Tickets
  • Start: Saturday 14 March - 19:45
  • Auditorium: Great Hall

This is a hired event

Glinka: Ruslan and Lyudmila Overture

Prokofiev: Violin Concerto No. 1

Stravinsky: Firebird (1945)

Conductor: William Carslake

Soloist: So-Ock Kim (Violin)

The Farnborough Symphony Orchestra returns to Farnham Maltings with a celebration of Russian music and we are privileged to welcome back So-Ock Kim to perform Prokofiev's Violin Concerto No. 1. So-Ock has worked with the FSO several times over the last four years and audiences and players alike have been overwhelmingly appreciative of her virtuosity and musicality.

The final work of the concert reflects one of Artistic Director, Bill Carslake's, key strategic themes: that of music connected with the outdoors. We will be transported to the forest with the elusive firebird for Stravinsky's Firebird Suite (1945). The concert begins with the sparkling overture to Glinka's opera Ruslan and Lyudmila.

Running time: 135 mins (including interval)